RAMPING UP: An artist’s impression of the stadium.
RAMPING UP: An artist’s impression of the stadium. Contributed

Stadium dream for CQ NRL Bid step closer to becoming reality

CENTRAL Queensland is one step closer to having a multi-purpose stadium in a positive move forward for the region.

The CQ Stadium committee was announced on Wednesday and the stadium logo launched at CQ Leagues Club in Rockhampton after $500,000 was recently secured from the Federal Government for the licensing and approvals stage of the stadium.

A steering committee, featuring CQ NRL Bid team members Geoff Murphy, Denis Keeffe and Ray Condor, along with local council and state government representatives and Rockhampton business community members was compiled to get the stadium project ready to tender by June next year.

CQ NRL Bid and Capras' chairman Geoff Murphy said it was a watershed time for both the bid and the CQ region.

"It will be a stadium for all sports and events including concerts and it also has a 1000-seat convention centre - something we have been looking forward to for a number of years," Mr Murphy said.

Mayor Margaret Strelow added it was great to get to the stage where the design and logo were completed.

"We have some direction and I think having a stadium will cause the region to explode - not in a scary way...we have planning for this for 10 years now and credit goes to Geoff and his team," Cr Strelow said.

While a location for the stadium had not been selected yet, the committee will consider 10 potential sites in the immediate vicinity of Rockhampton.

Mr Murphy said the stadium build depended on the success of the region getting its own NRL team. If successful in gaining a team, the State Government had stated it would build the stadium, set to cost approximately $130-140 million.

"There have been no further developments regarding the bid...there will be a final decision made at the end of 2014 about expansion."

The chairman clarified the new stadium would not affect the upgrade of Browne Park.


The committee is comprised of nine members representing the Central Queensland region.

  • Geoff Murphy - JM Kelly Group of Companies and CQ NRL Bid and Capras chairman
  • Mayor Margaret Strelow - Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Evan Pardon - CEO Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Bruce Young MP - Member for Keppel
  • Denis Keeffe - CQ NRL Bid CEO
  • Ray Conder - CQ NRL Bid director
  • Shaun Gallagher - Principal Populous
  • Pat O'Driscoll - Rockhampton Business Community
  • Grant Cassidy - Rockhampton Business Community