Saints cause giant Swans dive

ELEVEN wins from eleven matches. BITS Saints continued on their merry way at the weekend, destroying the Yeppoon Swans by 115 points and showing they aren’t about to ease up.

In what is usually a hard trip away on a ground the Swans take great pride in defending, the Saints turned it on in the second quarter, amassing 10 goals while holding the home team to one major, and effectively had the game in their keeping.

With a 14 goal to five second half, it was one-way traffic against a team that the Saints would have been wary of before the first bounce, even though the Swans have been getting a few hidings of late. Last time the teams met in Yeppoon, the result was a hard fought six-goal win to the premiership favourites.

Full forward John Beirouti was back in the goals, nailing six, and Adam Rakip, no slouch across half-forward, booted five along with midfielder Nick Stanley, who had his best return for the club.

Saints captain Nathan Shipard hasn’t been out of the best players list all year and was again superb on Saturday. Jacob Mills and Heath Wagstaff-Pettard were also very dominant as they went about plucking the Swans.

With only four rounds to play, the machine from Boyne sit top of the ladder and the wheels would need to fall off dramatically for them to drop off the perch.

Panthers are on the radar next and travel to Boyne this weekend and a win will sew up the minor premiership.

Beirouti will also be doing the maths on his quest for a hundred goals: he needs 19 from the last four games and will be licking his chops at this week’s prospects in front of goal.


BITS Saints 3.7  13.9  18.9  27.13 (175) def Yeppoon Swans 2.5  3.6  5.9  8.12 (60)

Goals: BITS: J. Beirouti 6, A. Rakip 5, N. Stanley 5, S. Muller 4, H. Wagstaff-Peteral 3, B. Coles 3, N. Shipard. Yeppoon: L. Gribble 2, R. Hamrey, A. Cooper, H. Kaer, L. Milway, K. Laundry, L. Cossens.

Best: BITS: Nathan Shipard, Jacob Mills, Heath Wagstaff-Peral, Paul Caveny, Nick Stanley. Yeppoon: Lee Gribble, Lee Milway, Wes Hawke, Trevor Robertson, Leigh Cossens, Justin Brooke