Ken O'Dowd to nominate again, not expecting surprises

FEDERAL Member for Flynn Ken O'Dowd will contest his seat again at the next federal election.

The LNP has started opening nominations and confirming sitting MPs across Queensland.

Michelle Landry in Capricornia and George Christensen in Dawson have already been confirmed.

The LNP opens every seat to nominations before every election.

This is usually worked through in groups, with Mr O'Dowd's seat included in the round of nominations that have just opened.

Mr O'Dowd's office has confirmed he will be standing again, and isn't expecting any surprises.

A spokesman said it would be unusual for a sitting member to be challenged at preselection.

At the 2013 federal election, Mr O'Dowd was challenged by Chris Trevor for the ALP, Richard Love for Katter's Australian Party, Steve Ensby for the Palmer United Party, Renae Moldre for Family First, Serena Thompson for The Greens, Kingsley Dickins for the Rise Up Australia Party, and independents Craig Tomsett and Duncan George.

Mr O'Dowd held the seat with 39,362 votes, a swing of -1.02%.

Mr Trevor received 28,598 votes, and said he was walking away from politics.

On election night in 2013, he said the election had been his fifth campaign, and it was time to take a step back and let another candidate run in Flynn.

He said it was impossible for him to win support in the regional areas.

But Mr Trevor said with the enormous support from Gladstone he wouldn't rule out a return to local council.

He did nominate to fill a vacant position on council in January following the resignation of Leo Neill-Ballantine, but was unsuccessful.