AAP Images

Jedinak, Kruse get top Aussie honours

SOCCEROOS midfielder Mile Jedinak has been named male footballer of the year at the fifth annual Australian Football Awards in Sydney.

Jedinak (pictured), captain of newly promoted EPL club Crystal Palace, was instrumental in helping the Socceroos qualify for their third successive World Cup.

"It was a massive year - it was very successful and one I'm not going to forget in a hurry," he said.

The other big winner was fellow Socceroos player Robbie Kruse, who was named Professional Footballers Australia's footballer of the year.

Kruse, a forward at German Bundesliga club Bayer Leverkusen, became the youngest winner of the PFA award and the first Harry Kewell medallist (2011) to go on and win the PFA honour.

"It's a good progression in my career, it obviously shows the A-League is a wonderful stepping stone as well," Kruse said.

Matildas star Lisa De Vanna was named female footballer of the year.

Her win came in the same week she was announced as a finalist in the FIFA goal-of-the-year award for her stunning overhead kick for American team Sky Blue FC.

In the other professional category awards, Matildas player and Melbourne Victory captain Stephanie Catley was named the female under-20 footballer of the year for the second year in succession, and Newcastle Jets midfielder Josh Brillante won the male under-20 footballer-of-the-year gong.

Matildas and Sydney FC star Samantha Kerr was named the PFA women's footballer of the year.