Kevin Rudd during the 2013 campaign.
Kevin Rudd during the 2013 campaign. Ava Benny-Morrison

Everyone's having a go at Kevin Rudd's old seat

MORE than 10 candidates have stood to take Kevin Rudd's place in parliament, with Labor hoping to make the Griffith by-election a vote on the success of the Abbott Government.

Among the candidates confirmed by the Australian Electoral Commission on Friday was Mr Rudd's top challenger at the election last year, the LNP's Dr Bill Glasson.

But a host of other minor parties have entered the political fray, including The Greens, Katter's Australian Party, the Pirate Party and Family First.

The Bullet Train Party has also nominated comedian and Rudd-look-alike Anthony Ackroyd, to stand for the seat.

While Dr Glasson has been tipped as the top candidate, Opposition Leader Bill Shorten this week officially backed Labor's candidate, lawyer and mother-of-two, Terri Butler.

With the by-election is the first political litmus test for the LNP since the September election, Mr Shorten said it was "remarkable" that Prime Minister Tony Abbott had not yet visited the electorate.

Ms Butler has also had the support of both Mr Rudd and Labor's health spokeswoman Catherine King, campaign on the ground in the past week.

Voters will go to the polls in Griffith on February 8.

Candidates for Griffith by-election:

  • Timothy Lawrence, Stable Population Party
  • Geoff Ebbs, The Greens
  • Christopher David Williams, Family First Party
  • Karel Boele, Independent
  • Anthony Ackroyd, Bullet Train for Australia
  • Anne Reid, Secular Party of Australia
  • Terri Butler, Australian Labor Party
  • Melanie Rose Thomas, Pirate Party Australia
  • Travis James Windsor, Independent
  • Ray Sawyer, Katter's Australian Party
  • Bill Glasson, Liberal National Party of Queensland