Disgraced Bundamba MP Jo-Ann Miller.
Disgraced Bundamba MP Jo-Ann Miller. Bev Lacey

Police Minister Jo-Ann Miller may learn her fate this week

EMBATTLED Bundamba MP Jo-Ann Miller could learn her fate this week over allegations she deliberately misled parliament.

The Queensland Times understand the powerful parliamentary ethics committee has completed its investigation into the allegations.

The Labor Party sensationally referred Ms Miller to the ethics committee on July 13 - a move which ensured she did not have to face tough opposition questions during estimates hearings.

The referral to the ethics committee came after it was revealed Ms Miller had signed a statutory declaration stating she had destroyed confidential documents held in a safe.

Ms Miller was privy to the documents while in Opposition in her former role as deputy-chair of the parliamentary crime and corruption committee.

But it was revealed nearly 90 highly-sensitive documents, along with confidential passwords, relating to covert Crime and Corruption Commission investigations were left behind in the safe.

The QT understands the decision on whether the final report is tabled in parliament this week rests with the committee's acting-chair Di Farmer.

It is further understood the lengthy report, and its contents, will be discussed when the Labor Party meet today ahead of the final parliamentary sittings of the year.

A source close to the investigation told the QT the final report was a fair reflection of the evidence provided to the committee.

The committee's recommendations could have long-term ramifications for Ms Miller's political future - especially in her role in Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk's ministry.

The source told the QT the final report had the full support of all committee members - regardless of their political persuasion.

The document breach was uncovered following Labor's shock election win earlier this year when the same safe was subsequently reassigned to LNP Warrego MP Ann Leahy who now sits on the parliamentary crime and corruption committee.