Carbon tax list grows

COUNCILS and gas pipelines were the main groups added to the list of groups that will be forced to pay the carbon tax late.

The Clean Energy Regulator's list of entities that will pay the carbon tax was updated late on Friday night.

About 25 new groups were added to the list, including:

  • Clarence Valley Council,
  • Gosford City Council,
  • Griffith Council,
  • Lake Macquarie City Council
  • and Logan City Council.

Another industrial group that was added was gas pipeline construction firms, with Origin Energy, ConocoPhillips Pipeline Australia, South Australia's gas provider AGL and Jemena Queensland Gas Pipelines all added to the list.

Councils were primarily added if they expected to have more than 25,000 tonnes of carbon emissions in 2012.