Capras coach Kim Williams.Photo Allan Reinikka / The Morning Bulletin
Capras coach Kim Williams.Photo Allan Reinikka / The Morning Bulletin Allan Reinikka ROK140916acapras1

Capras prepare for tough Rivalry Round clash

RUGBY LEAGUE: Bragging rights are on the line this weekend with the staging of XXXX Rivalry Round in the Intrust Super Cup.

The CQ Capras are back at Browne Park on Saturday night with a Round 6 grudge match looming against the Mackay Cutters.

Although the flooding in Rockhampton is yet to subside, concerns over whether the match would go ahead have, with Capras coach Kim Williams not phased over how the Cutters come to town.

"The only thing we've heard that may affect things is if the Bruce Hwy is blocked anywhere between here and Mackay and that's quite possible,” he said.

"If so, the talk is (Mackay) will come down the long way through the mountains and a four-hour journey might turn into a six-hour one, but that won't worry us.”

Both Mackay (11th) and the Capras (10th) sit on four competition points after five rounds, with two wins each.

Mackay lead CQ 11 to six in the head-to-head match-up, although the Capras have won the last two games between the sides.

Williams knows his side will have a firm battle on their hands.

"They're a team if they get the lead or get a sniff of victory they are very hard to beat,” he said. "We know it's going to be a tough game.”

It's something Williams knows well, he coached the Cutters before taking the Capras job.

Calliope's Bill Cullen and Gladstone's Sam Smith were named on a seven-man bench for the Capras.


CQ Capras v Mackay Cutters at Browne Park on Saturday, April 8 - 6pm

CQ Capras

1. Maipele Morseau 2. Ken Tofilau 3. Justin Tavae 4. Junior Kirisome 5. Chanel Seigafo 6. Reece Baker 7. Jack Madden 8. Matthew Groat 9. Krys Freeman 10. Oliver Percy 11. Ayden Cooper 12. Guy Williams (c) 13. Gavin Hiscox (c) 14. Tony Tumusa 15. Aleki Falepaini 16. Jack Kavanagh 17. William Cullen 18. Phill Nati 19. Samuel Smith 20. Vic Halfpenny

Coach: Kim Williams

Mackay Cutters

1. Jack Joass 2. Yamba Bowie 3. Setaimata Sa (c) 4. Jordan Pereira 5. Nathan Saumalu 6. Nicholas Hynes 7. Cooper Bambling 8. Braden Uele 9. Aaron Booth 10. Nicholas Brown 11. Andrew Davey (c) 12. Shane Wright 13. Lona Kaifoto 14. Jake Eden 15. Jacob Pottinger 16. Kouma Samson 17. Gareth Moore 18. Johnny Faletagoa'i

Coach: Steve Sheppard