Paul Gallen
Paul Gallen

NSW Lineup: Fafita dropped, Gallen and Morris back in

UPDATE: Paul Gallen and Brett Morris have been recalled to the NSW State of Origin side for game 2 in Melbourne, ABC reports. 

Morris will replace Daniel Topou on the wing while Gallen pushes Josh Jackson to the interchange bench.

The change does leave forward Andrew Fafita out of the game.

EARLIER: BULLDOZING Sharks forward Andrew Fifita could be the unlucky loser in a New South Wales pack reshuffled to accommodate his Cronulla skipper and Blues leader Paul Gallen for Origin game two at the MCG next Wednesday.

Blues coach Laurie Daley will reveal his hand today amid speculation over several positions.

Apart from Gallen's return, Bulldogs winger Brett Morris is being tipped as a possible replacement for Will Hopoate, who was very quiet in game one.

Gallen left no doubt he was ready for Origin with a very busy 76-minute comeback game in Sunday's 10-4 upset over the Roosters.

The Sharks captain made 180m and 35 tackles in his first game for six weeks.

Daley is faced with several key calls, especially if hooker Robbie Farah, who made 60 tackles in game one, fails in his bid to recover from a shoulder injury.

Michael Ennis, Nathan Peats and Mitch Rein have all be tossed up as replacements for the West Tigers captain, who has been receiving around-the-clock treatment.

Daley is expected to stick with game one halves Trent Hodkinson and Mitchell Pearce, who came under fire for failing to get the Blues into a position for a game-levelling field goal in the dying minutes.

Gallen's return will push Josh Jackson onto the bench, with Fifita the one to be squeezed out.

Daley picked a 17-man squad he thought could defend Queensland out of the first game, and he came up one point short, a Cooper Cronk field goal the difference after 80 frenetic minutes.

The big question is, will the Blues mentor gamble the series by making changes?


  • Josh Dugan,
  • Daniel Tupou,
  • Michael Jennings, J
  • osh Morris,
  • Brett Morris,
  • Mitchell Pearce,
  • Trent Hodkinson,
  • Aaron Woods,
  • Robbie Farah,
  • James Tamou,
  • Beau Scott,
  • Ryan Hoffman,
  • Paul Gallen.


  • Josh Jackson,
  • Trent Merrin,
  • Boyd Cordner,
  • David Klemmer.