SEVEN students have been awarded the CQUniversity Rex Metcalfe Lifelong Learning Award.

Professor Owen Nevin, dean of graduate studies at CQU, welcomed the high achievers onto campus to receive these awards.

Many of them are planning to be back.

"With the presentation of the Rex Metcalfe Lifelong Learning Awards we acknowledge the hard work which these students have already put into their studies," he said.

"It (education) has become an exciting journey and CQU is a partner in this journey supporting students like these and many others as they continue along a path of lifelong learning and success."

Award winners Raymond Volschenk and Kelsey Corrin of Toolooa State High School, and Troy Whitaker from Gladstone State High School, will start their higher education at CQU and receive the $1000 bursary that comes with the award.

However, for fellow recipient and Tannum Sands State High School graduate David Madsen the bursary wasn't tempting enough - he's aspiring to study aerospace and mechanical engineering at the University of Queensland in Brisbane.

Other 2013 recipients of the award are Michael Carr, Chamindi Rosayro and Ashton Day.