KAP keeps Mt Isa and Dalrymple but loses Condamine

KATTER'S Australian Party has managed to keep two out of three seats in Queensland, holding on to Mount Isa and Dalrymple but losing Condamine to the LNP.

The Greens and Palmer United Party did not secure any seats, while the number of independents in Queensland has gone from three to one.

Peter Wellington held on to his seat of Nicklin, which he has held since 1998.

He secured 65.8% of after-preference votes against the LNP's Matt Trace.

KAP's Shane Knuth held on to his seat of Dalrymple.

On Saturday night he defeated LNP candidate Liz Schmidt, holding about 66.8% of the votes after preferences.

Mr Knuth has been Dalrymple's MP since 2009, when he was elected for the LNP. But in 2011 he joined Katter's Australian Party.

KAP's Mount Isa MP Rob Katter held on to his seat, securing 69.6% of after-preference votes against the LNP's John Wharton.

Mr Katter has held the seat since 2012.

- APN Newsdesk